Prestashop – my biggest mistake!

I know I am not technically minded but I pick things up easily and enjoy learning new things. Therefore, I have always worked on my websites myself. I am far from an expert but I have learned a lot.

I have changed the host of www.tiffanyjadeslingerie.com three times. I outgrew each of the hosts that I used. I found, with time, that each host did not offer certain functions that I wanted.

I decided to buy my own template using Prestashop. Prestashop recommended Blue Host for hosting.

I have found Prestashop far from “fast, efficient and easy to use”. From the start, I encountered problems. Initially it was installation of my template. I paid Prestashop to do this. I also paid it to change the colour of my template which took several attempts and chains of emails before it was completed correctly.

I ran updates that threw me back to square one, having to configure modules again. The dashboard is complicated and unfriendly. It is not “easy to use” and you are not provided with “everything you need to open, operate and maintain a successful online store”.

When I contacted Prestashop a few months ago for help I was ignored and then when I contacted them via twitter I was referred to price packages for support. Prestashop would not even look into the reality that my template was incorrectly installed, as advised by Blue Host. In fact after referring me to the price packages, Prestashop would not even respond.

After months of difficulty using Prestashop and wasting money, time and energy, I am at a point of cutting my losses. This has been the biggest business mistake I have ever made. I am spending more time looking at ways to fix and overcome issues rather than building, optimising and promoting the site.

Does anyone else have experience of using Prestashop? Any experiences of good hosts supporting lots of images and products?

Leave a Reply

