Jamaican Cat

I had been in the beautiful island of Jamaica for two nights. I went on a work trip and we changed hotels every couple of nights. It was mid morning and we had just arrived in a new hotel. I was told to leave my bags in reception for the porter, but being the not trusting person that I am, I decided to have a drink in the bar that overlooked reception and the beach so I could keep an eye on my bag.

After being laughed at by the bartender for asking for coolade in a five star restaurant, I sipped my Appleton slowly, enjoying the vitamin D absorption process. Out of the corner of my eye, I spy a cat sat comfortably in front of my suitcase. I did not want cat fur on my case so I walked over to the cat and politely asked it to move. “Can you move from in front of my suitcase please” I say. The cat looks at me and sucks it’s teeth (basically gives me attitude) and turns its head in the other direction. Oh no you didn’t. Now people are looking at me so I have to walk away leaving the cat in the same position.

Cat – 1, Me – 0

Later on that evening, I am walking towards my room with one of the hotel staff. The cat bops past me like HEYYY. I point at it and say “it’s that cat” but it carries on walking. I take a pebble and throw it to get it’s attention but I can’t throw well so the cat has to dodge the pebble which it does in true matrix fashion. It literally moved like Neo – no word of a lie! Then it ran off.

Cat – 2, Me – 0

I go to my room and get in my bed. After a minute or so I hear the sounds of a cockroach. That scuttle scuttle sound. I am scared so I decide I am going to run out of my room and knock on someone’s door to come and get rid of the cockroach. When I open my door I see…THE CAT…….

The Cat!!!

Cat – 3, Me – 0

Leave a Reply

