BBC’s The Great British Budget Menu

I watched this show last night feeling quite excited about the recipes that were going to be shown. I often find myself trying to make budget meals. Food prices haveChicken Caesar Salad increased dramatically and pay has not. For me these increases have happened at a vulnerable time. They have happened when I had two maternity leaves back to back and started my businesses. Profits I have made have gone straight back into my businesses to grow them so it has been a struggle to say the least.

I thought this show would give me great ideas. The premise of the show was that three top chefs would go into three separate households, that were struggling financially, and try to cook a healthy meal for them on their budget but the chefs failed. They went over budget, proving that this is a very difficult thing to do especially if you are out of touch with living in a budget. These chefs made the choice to go over budget but the people they were cooking for do not have that option and so turn to junk food due to the low price and convenience. The only thing I learned from this show was that big piece of salmon cost around £11. Salmon is an expensive fish, why didn’t that chef buy cod?

While watching the show I saw that it was trending on Twitter. I saw a lot of tweets by A Girl called Jack. Being the private investigator that I am, I found that she has her own blog with recipes. Yay! I actually found what I wanted out of the show in her blog so I felt the need to share it with you. You can find her blog here. Now I am off to redo my online shopping basket using her recipes!

Have a great day everyone! Please use the comments to share any budget recipes you have or any other blogs with great recipes….

Leave a Reply

